Posted by: crudbasher | September 6, 2012

TED Video About How Coursera Works

I came across this excellent video from Daphne Koller which goes into detail about how about how the  Coursera system works for Massive Open Online Courses. What is fascinating to me is how they are taking advantage of the online nature of the medium. What I mean is that even though you are one of a 100,000 students, you can progress at your own pace with embedded assessments. As I have mentioned, I believe any solutions for online education must work on a global scale. This one does. (see Higher Education For The World)

This is well worth 20 min of your time.

Responses

  1. Brilliant! This is exactly our goal for the 3D Arts Finals Department. I love the section on using the data to improve the education process. They are also using ” Quiz based podcast” we prototyped a year ago! Technology completely infused in the personalization of the education process and a teachers ability to enrich the learning based on realtime feedback. Perfect! I am in 120%!!!!

    • Yeah I think we will see a lot more of this. Success breeds imitation online. It’s why I keep saying it only takes one site to get it right with next gen online education. Thanks for commenting!!

  2. [...] I came across this excellent video from Daphne Koller which goes into detail about how about how the  Coursera system works for Massive Open Online Courses. What is fascinating to me is how they ar…  [...]

  3. awesome and so exciting! Now I need to discover how we can use this in my K-7 charter school. I know they are using several different programs and sites. I teach drama, so most don’t apply to me…

  4. [...] TED Video About How Coursera Works (educationstormfront.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 921 other followers

