Posted by: crudbasher | November 5, 2012

A Heart Simulator That Can Run On A Laptop

I didn’t post last Thursday or Friday because I had my in-laws in town. I got to see my little 2 yr niece and my 5 month old nephew. We went to Disney and had a wonderful time!

My niece did something that was relevant to learning I think. She got out my iPad and asked me to unlock it. Then he used her thumb to flip through the various pages of icons until she saw the red Netflix icon. She pressed it and then asked me to “see monkeys?”. She wanted to watch Curious George heh heh.

Steve Jobs realized something years ago that is illustrated by this story. People don’t read manuals so he wanted an interface that was so intuitive anyone can just start using it. I think Apple succeeded.

My little niece will never know a world without a constant Internet connection. She will have no concept of not being able to find out anything in seconds. This will shape her.

I have previously tried to stress how important Simulation will be in learning in the future. The military has embraced simulators for decades but now this technology is widely accessible to anyone with a tablet or laptop. Let me give you an example with how to learn about the heart.

First, this is what you might find in a textbook. (source)

The heart has two sides, separated by an inner wall called the septum. The right side of the heart pumps blood to the lungs to pick up oxygen. The left side of the heart receives the oxygen-rich blood from the lungs and pumps it to the body.

The heart has four chambers and four valves and is connected to various blood vessels. Veins are blood vessels that carry blood from the body to the heart. Arteries are blood vessels that carry blood away from the heart to the body.

Compare that to this video of an interactive simulation you can run on a laptop. (H/T Gizmodo)

Which one will get the interest of a student more?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 921 other followers

