Posted by: crudbasher | November 6, 2012

Thoughts On The US Election

I stood in line this morning for 2 and a half hours and voted in the US elections. This what I was thinking while I was standing in line.

I wondered how many of my fellow citizens really understood how fortunate we are in the US. Free elections like we have had for so long are a rarity around the world. In fact, the natural condition of the world is tyranny.

I wondered how many of my fellow citizens understood how our freedom came to be and how fragile it really was. Ronald Reagan had a great line: “Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction.” I think that is true. This election will determine if that generation is now.

As I looked around at the line of people waiting to vote I had an epiphany. I saw a young woman with red and green hair. (The top half was red, and the bottom half was green.) I realized this is America. We are always bombarded with celebrities and media and politicians but those people are only a very tiny fraction of the population. It may seem they rule us, but in actuality, they are only where they are by the good graces of the population. We don’t elect rulers we hire executives. In Europe and Asia and other places there are elite classes you have to be born into to be a part of. There are whole levels of their civilization that are out of reach of the average population. Not in America. The people in line with me to vote weren’t special. They are just… average. But that is what makes American special in my eyes. We are mutts. We are a hodgepodge of peoples from the whole world who came to this country with no expectations but for a chance to succeed. And yet, this country has shaped the world profoundly in the last 2 centuries.

Many people think America is in decline but they miss the point. As long as Americans care enough to turn out to vote, the country can be renewed. I am confident we will rebuild our country as we have many times in the past. That thought warms my heart and fills me with hope for the future and the future of my new son.

God Bless America.

(cc) Ant1_G

Responses

  1. Fantastic post. Thanks for the reminder.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 921 other followers

