Posted by: crudbasher | January 31, 2013

Around The World (With Webcams)

Does everyone have a bit of a voyeur in them? I have been getting into webcams a little bit more lately. Perhaps it is because I have no windows in the building I work in? I find it relaxing to be able to tune into other places around the world and imagine for a moment I am there.

The cams that are the best are the ones you can actually control via the net. What really blows me away is these are all free. In fact, a lot of them are put up for no particular reason. What this tells us is the cost to stream video from a camera is almost zero now. When I was growing up we used to call my Grandparents in England from the US. I remember we had to be quick because of long distance charges. Today I bet many kids don’t even know what long distance charges are. Instead they can Skype or iChat with anyone in the world for free for as long as they want.

The implications for education are simple. As I have said previously several times, once you physically separate the student and teacher, it doesn’t matter how far apart they are. It becomes possible to match a student with exactly the right teacher for them and to do it very cheaply. This is a disruptive technology for education.

For now however, check out some of these cool webcams!

A Sushi Kitchen in Tokyo

Banff, Canada

Times Square, New York City

A Camera in England watching blinking lights on a router (seriously)

A Beach Webcam in Morocco

This last one is very cool. It is a Humane Society shelter with Cats. You can take control of the camera and also make 3 cat toys move and play with the cats!!

Responses

  1. [...] Does everyone have a bit of a voyeur in them? I have been getting into webcams a little bit more lately. Perhaps it is because I have no windows in the building I work in? I find it relaxing to be …  [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 934 other followers

