Posted by: crudbasher | September 12, 2013

5 Quick Thoughts About The New iPhone 5s

Hello loyal readers I’m back from vacation!

I went on a really nice Disney Cruise with my wife and 7 month old son (he’s getting big!).

Me and my boy

Me and my boy on the ship

Of course being on a cruise I didn’t really have access to the Internet (that’s one of the reasons I went) so I’ve been catching up on the latest tech news. I just read up on the iPhone 5s and wanted to talk about the implications from more of a big picture perspective.

  1. Apple included a fingerprint reader. There have been biometric readers on computers for years but the fact Apple is including it means it has matured to the point of being easy and reliable. Seeing as privacy has been on the radar lately, watch for lots more of that in the next year.
  2. According to Apple the 5s is 56x faster graphics wise than their original iPhone which was released 6 years ago. My son is 7 months old. When he gets to 6 years old, what kind of phones will he have access to then? It boggles the mind.
  3. They have added some features such as image stabilization to their camera. I have to say I really like that feature on my Galaxy S3. It makes video come out so much nicer. Their sensor also has 33% better light gathering capabilities. There is another feature where you can take 10 rapid pictures and it will choose which one turned out the best. All of this adds up to the ability for unskilled people to make better quality digital content. This will work especially well for children.
  4. The price didn’t change but the phone got faster. Moore’s Law in action. (seeĀ Why Bring Your Own Device To School Is Inevitable)
  5. The new chip inside is now a 64 bit chip. Without getting into detail, if you want to run larger apps you want 64 bits. This is Apple looking towards the future.

Overall, a nice evolutionary step forward for Apple. It is the safe play and I’m sure they will sell a ton of them. However, it still leaves the field open for a competitor to change the rules. We will see.

Here’s a good round up from Gizmodo.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 921 other followers

