Posted by: crudbasher | September 23, 2010

Thoughts on the Book: Disrupting Class (Part 1)

I know a new word! Cramming.

Cool word eh?  I have been reading the book Disrupting Class and am about halfway through it.  Several things have struck me so far.

  1. The authors are optimistic about the future of education.
  2. The public school system has been improving over time, we are just asking more and different things of it.
  3. Very few companies and industries have survived the amount of disruptive change now facing the education system.
  4. Disruptive change takes root in the areas where nobody notices (or cares) and then rapidly displaces the establishment.

And finally: Cramming – To force a technology to fit the current instruction model, even if it is not suitable for it. The result is usually failure.

I will be co-moderating a chat session with Michael Horn, one of the book’s authors next Wednesday,  Sep 29th.  For more details please check this page on Ed Reformer.

Responses

  1. I’m looking forward to the rapidly displaces the establishment part. We are overdue for that change! Hoping I can drop in on the chat session with Horn!

    • According to their book the disruption should start happening in 2014! I hope you can make the chat. If not, it will be archived too.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by e-learn.net, Andrew Barras. Andrew Barras said: I learned a new word! http://bit.ly/aUd6B2 #edchat […]

  3. I loved this book- I especially like that it helps us to visualize what education can look like in the future.

    I watched two TED talks while I was reading the book. there are so many connections between create an open market for learning, people learning from others, training students to be lifelong learning,

    Check them out:

    • Yeah I have watched those vids. Very cool stuff! Thanks for sharing!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

