Posted by: crudbasher | October 27, 2010

Amazon to allow book lending on the Kindle

I’m back from my trip to the Blue Ridge Mountains!  It was amazing and restful. Now back to the blog!

As I waded through my 500 items waiting for me in my RSS reader, I came across this really cool item.  I have been very temped to get a Kindle ebook reader but several things about it have been bothering me.  One of them was that you can’t loan the book to other people.  Well soon you will be able to, at least on the Kindle.

It’s interesting to me that there are two different dynamics on the web today.  First, is the social media phenomenon. The whole crux of this is the free sharing of content with people you know.  It’s all about freely distributing information.

The second phenomenon is DRM.  Digital Rights Management.  It’s an artificial way to make something scarce that should not be scarce.  As I have been saying on this blog, you only derive value (and therefore money) from things that are scarce.  I have to amend that theory a little because you can get value from convenience as well.  For example, you can get music from P2P networks (with a bit of effort) or you can buy it from iTunes for a buck.  Even so, you are mostly paying for convenience not the content.

Anyway, this is a step in the right direction for Amazon.  I’m still not sure about a Kindle yet though.

  • Interesting change for the Kindle – you can loan for 14 days

    tags: technology kindle

    • Amazon has announced that it plans to allow users of its Kindle book reader to “lend” electronic books to other Kindle users, based on the publisher’s discretion.

       

    • This new feature of Kindle, while maintaining DRM, recognizes the human need to share books that have been enjoyed and/or found important. Not surprisingly, Amazon set up a few ground rules for its electronic version of lending: A book can be lent only for up to 14 days. A single book can only be lent once, and the lender cannot read the book while it is loaned out. Also, not all books may be loaned. It is up to the publisher or copyright holder to determine whether the title can be loaned out.

       

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Responses

  1. Nice! I hope that this applies to the Kindle app as well, that would be great!

    • That’s a good question!


Leave a Reply

Categories

