Posted by: crudbasher | December 2, 2010

Punishing Curiosity

Another Seth Godin related post. That’s two in a row. (is that wrong?)

Seth makes a great point in this short video where he says that in school we punish curiosity.  He says that he is curious now in spite of school, rather than because of it.  I think this is true to a large extent.  I don’t blame the teachers by the way.  The system is designed that way.  When you have a large number of kids, a limited amount of time, and standardized tests they have to take, that pretty much ties your hands.

I would also add to Seth’s point that you can’t be curious if you aren’t allowed to fail.  Not only that, but you have to be allowed to try again if you do fail.  Personally I have learned more from my failures than from my successes.  That is why I feel we should always keep score in kids games.  Not keeping score might provide temporary boosts to self esteem but it’s not based on anything real. Eventually kids start to realize that.

Anyway, enjoy the video!

H/T  Education Futures and @KnowmadsNL

Responses

  1. I don’t think it is wrong. I have Seth posts stacked up…thinking I should make a special category just for them 🙂 I like the point you added that not only do we have to be allowed to fail but to try again. The try again is often missing from education because we have to “hurry up and get to the next thing”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

