Posted by: crudbasher | January 20, 2011

Jeb Bush Talking About Online Learning

I came across this interesting interview with Jeb Bush where he talks about how online technology can be a “disruptive” factor in school transformation.

One of the things I liked about this interview where he spoke about how if you can create an online course, you can share it across the whole country, thus spreading the cost to create it.

He also mentioned that right now online courses are “on the fringe” of learning, which is interesting because that is right where many disruptive changes come from.  They don’t start in the mainstream, they start on the edges. See the book Disrupting Class. 🙂

Anyway, it’s a 6 minute video where I think Jeb makes a lot of good points.  What do you think?

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by e-learn.net, Michael Werner and Samuel Conn, Ph.D., Andrew Barras. Andrew Barras said: New Post: Jeb Bush Talks About Online Learning http://bit.ly/fXuZ2V #edchat #edtech #blendedlearning […]

  2. Jeb is only interested in digital courses so he can make millions off it. He envisions kids sitting in front of computer screens taking traditional courses via a web based platform with traditional work and assessments. He isn’t talking about digital content or immersive, collaborative projects via the web. Jeb and his brother, Neil, are in it for the big bucks…. period. As a Floridian who put up with this egotistical elitist as Governor for 8 yrs, believe me, you don’t want to be supporting anything he has to say.

    • Hi Emilia,
      I too am a Floridian! Welcome to my blog! 🙂

      I knew when I posted this I would get at least one comment with a political tone. I would like however to be able to evaluate what he said without that if possible. How can we learn anything if we are not willing to at least listen to the other side? Even if they are wrong it might give us ideas to help move to a solution. It seems to me that only listening to people who think the same way is a sure way to miss the big picture.

      Therefore, are you just dismissing what he says because of his politics or because he’s wrong? If you think he’s wrong, can you point to any evidence?

      Thanks for commenting!

  3. I am tempted to dismiss him because he was my governor when I was a young teacher, telling me to end social promotion. I have a view of him *not* understanding education because of my initial experience of him as an educational leader.

    I do not prefer online learning to “be a the core of learning” myself. I am more interested in a blended learning style that using on line learning to supplement, accelerate, remediate, provide independent study opportunities, but most of all to spread the class population out so that the teacher can get to know his/her students better. Those relationships are lacking in our drive for test scores.

    If he is saying that the entire course happens between the student and the computer I am not in favor, but if it happens in a classroom and creates an individual learning schedule then maybe . . .

    Does he have an angle? What interest/influence does he have in this? I haven’t been in FL for years, I am not aware of his foundation.

    • I do see blended learning as the inevitable next step in education. Studies seem to indicate it is the most effective form of learning we know so far. I have taken some online course recently from Full Sail (my employer) and I was happy with the amount of interaction with the teacher and students. I think a lot of improvement has been made in the online realm.

      I wonder how online classes would help inner city youth? I have seen stories where teachers can’t really do their jobs because of disruptive kids in their classes. If the class was online instead, at least some of the kids would be able to learn without that disruptive influence.

      Thanks for commenting!!

  4. I think online only is problematic the younger you get in K12, but Blended Learning can work PK+.
    Nice post; thanks for sharing.

  5. Surely education scores in Florida increased vastly while he was Governor.

    If he “does not understand education” as a teacher above said, perhaps more people who do not understand education would be better.

    The objective test numbers seem to support his approach.

  6. Test scores generally increase as teachers start to learn the test and start to teach to it; that is why it is a big deal in education when a state test is changed, it generally decreased scores.

    And of course, the biggest assumption is that test scores equal learning.


Leave a Reply

Categories

