Posted by: crudbasher | March 3, 2011

Learning Analytics and Knowledge Conference Wrapup

Sorry I didn’t post yesterday, I was traveling literally all day and had no net access.

I just got back from the 1st annual Learning Analytics and Knowledge conference in Banff, Canada. I had a nice time! The countryside was very beautiful, and the people were very friendly. I could have done without picking up a heavy cold on my way back but I guess you can’t have it all. đŸ™‚

Learning Analytics is collecting data on how students are doing and then processing them in some way to help adjust the learning experience to help the students be more successful.

The whole conference is going to be available online but I have some thoughts.

  1. I don’t have a Ph.D in anything much less statistics. That would have helped me get more out of the conference.
  2. There is more and more data being collected about us all the time. Faster computers and networks allow us to merge more of it and start to see patterns.
  3. Everyone is leaving a large digital trail behind them. It’s scary how much Google actually knows about us.
  4. In terms of where Learning Analytics is, it’s still in it’s formative stages. People are getting data and starting to analyze it. There are a lot of questions about what to look for.
  5. Nobody has any answers really. That’s ok though. I got to meet a whole bunch of really smart and motivated people who live for answering questions like these.
  6. I really wonder how conclusions reached about large sample sizes will translate down to the individual level.

That’s about what I have thought of so far. My head is all messed up with this cold so I’ll sleep on it some more.

Oh and the iPad 2 was announced. It’s more than double the power of the last one. The Sony PSP2 portable gaming machine is more than 9 times more powerful than the iPad 1.

Technology keeps accelerating!  This is not a linear curve, it’s exponential.

Responses

  1. Where on-line is the con going to be posted?


Leave a Reply

Categories

