Posted by: crudbasher | April 25, 2011

When Things Fall Apart

I taught a Professional Development class today at Full Sail for about 40 educators. My topic was Personal Learning Networks.  I love teaching that class because of it fulfills the idea of teaching someone to fish rather than giving them a fish.

I have been teaching for almost 15 years now so I have had days where things just fall apart. While today wasn’t quite that bad, it did not end well. 🙂

My session was 3 hours. We started talking about the idea of a PLN and I showed some examples. Then we moved on the RSS stream with Google Reader. Everyone really liked that! After a break we did Twitter. I showed them how to use hashtags to find what you want and to avoid all the noise.

After the second break we moved on to Diigo. That’s where I had a problem. Turns out that Diigo’s main server decided to blow up and die for an hour. While Diigo does occasionally have outages I don’t usually see it last this long. Of course it was right when we were supposed to be using Diigo. *sigh*

I showed a video on how to use Diigo via YouTube  but there was no hands on. It really made me think about how much we rely on the Internet for things and how it’s a good idea to have a backup plan for when it doesn’t work right.

I will offer this class again next month so people can see how the story ends!

Anyone else have any horror stories about teaching they want to share?

Responses

  1. I am sure you rocked, as usual – with or without Diigo! 🙂

    • Well I did my best! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

