Posted by: crudbasher | May 16, 2011

Find Inspiration Anywhere You Can

These are dark days for some of us. It sometimes feels like there is a struggle going on for the very soul of our country. That however is not what this blog is about.

As a child I was always fascinated by the space program. I was one month old when the last men walked on the moon so I am pretty much a Space Shuttle guy. Watching the amazing things people can accomplish in space was my inspiration to achieve things on my own.

I was very fortunate that 15 years ago I got to sit in the cockpit of Endeavour. Then it was pretty new, now she is a workhorse being put out to pasture.

Over the last couple of years I began living my live with a simple philosophy. If something will only happen once, be a part of it if you can. Because in the end, I would rather do something and regret it, than spend the rest of my life wondering if I should have done it.

With that in mind this morning I woke up at 4am and treked over to the coast to watch Endeavour’s last launch. The last time I went over to watch her the launch was scrubbed. Today however I just knew in my gut that she would not disappoint me again. 🙂 I was right.

Here is a video I made of the launch this morning.

I was about 7 miles away. Unfortunately you couldn’t really get the sound on that camera I was using and it took a minute for the sound to get to us anyway.

The cloud bank was in the way so I only got to see it for about 10 seconds, but it was enough. I can look back on this day as the day I waved good bye to a source of inspiration for me and for millions of people around the world. One day I will take my children to the museum in California and introduce them to my friend. I hope they will be inspired too.

What is your inspiration and have to exposed yourself to it enough lately?

Here’s a fabulous video NASA put out recently that sums up the shuttle program.

Godspeed Endeavour!

Leave a Reply

Categories

