Posted by: crudbasher | June 1, 2011

Farewell Endeavour!

This is a little off topic, but hey, it’s my blog right?

The space shuttle program was approved during the mission of Apollo 16 in April, 1972. Word was radioed to Astronaut John Young, then on the lunar surface. Coincidentally, Young would be the first commander of the first space shuttle Columbia, 9 years later.

I was born in November that year so you could say the space shuttle and I have been alive for the same length of time. For most Americans of my age it has always been there as a source of inspiration.

16 days ago I got up early and drove over to watch Endeavour’s last liftoff. I had the opportunity to sit in the pilot seat of Endeavour in 1996 so that shuttle has always been special to me.

Endeavour's Last Launch (cc) Andrew Barras

Last night I got up at 2am to watch Endeavour come home for the last time. It’s bittersweet for me.

credit: NASA

Update: Found this amazing video of reentry filmed in Mexico!

I guess all good things come to an end.

credit: NASA

Endeavour will be decommissioned over the next year and then put on display in California. One day I will take my children there and tell them the story of me and the shuttle.

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the shuttle program. I took my family to see Discovery take off last year, and it was the coolest thing I’ve seen. The space program has always been close to my heart. My cousin Galen Givens was a member of NASA’s original 19, and assigned to the Apollo 7 support crew before he was killed in a car accident in 1967 while driving some others home from a Quiet Birdman social. I’m sad to see the shuttle program go, but hope that we’ll see more great things from NASA and the space program.

    Sean


Leave a Reply

Categories

