Posted by: crudbasher | January 9, 2012

Things to Watch At CES 2012

Right now the 2012 Consumer Electronics Show is starting in Las Vegas. While I am not attending, I am paying attention to developments in technology that can affect Education. Here are a few I have seen already.

As I have mentioned previously, the price for a given level of performance continues to plummet. A case in point is the One Laptop Per Child (OLPC) project. They have just unveiled a $100 tablet aimed at children.   This is pretty cool stuff. I’m sure it’s going to be slow but that will change in just a few years. In 3 or so years you might see iPad 2 performance for $100.

Something else interesting is this tiny server. You get a wifi network and data storage all in one just by plugging it into the wall. It’s a partner with the OLPC project so they should work well together. I don’t expect to see this much in schools with existing Wifi, it should help establish networks in the developing world.

There are also all sorts of large TVs with smarts built in. As I predicted, I think by Christmas, pretty much every TV sold with have Internet connectivity built in. I’m curious if Apple will get into the smart tv market and show everyone how it’s done.

I’ll keep an eye on CES this week and post anything else I see that is relevant.

If you want to keep track of developments too, I would strongly recommend both Gizmodo and Engadget.

Leave a Reply

Categories

