Posted by: crudbasher | March 16, 2012

Dr. Michio Kaku Predicts The Future

Dr. Michio Kaku

I’m in the business of predicting the future on this blog. It’s been interesting so far but I’m still new at it. As part of my futurist training, I look to other futurists and see how they do it. One of the most popular ones right now is a physicist name Dr. Michio Kaku. You might have seen him before on TV. He is one of those kinds of people who likes to think outside the box.

I find that the best way to predict the future is to start with no assumptions. What I mean is that don’t hold anything fixed. If anything is possible, then all sorts of interesting futures present themselves.

I came across this video of a talk Dr. Kaku gave a few years ago in 2009. When I watched it, I realized that certain predictions of his have already come true. Here’s the video and I have made some notations of significant parts.

The actual talk starts at 5:40.

7:20 – there is a very cool part where he discusses how me made his own particle accellerator in his garage while he was in high school. This kind of passion learning is the most powerful kind. Nobody told him to do it, he directed himself.

13:20 – the implications of Moore’s law. He says that by 2020 computer chips will cost about a penny. I think what he actually means is that today’s performance will cost a penny in 2020.

14:20 – Augmented Reality.

16:40 – realtime voice translation.

18:00 – cell phones of the future.

29:50 – Robots and AI

46:25 – The far future.

He might be wrong on a lot of this but his ability to take current trends and look into the future without preconceptions and bias is something we can look at in regards to education.

Leave a Reply

Categories

