Posted by: crudbasher | August 12, 2013

What Does It Mean To Know How To Use Computers?

I came across a great blog post from a teacher who is very computer savvy. He lays out a case that the newer generations of students actually don’t know how to use computers. Oh sure, they can use them to web browse but they don’t know how to do troubleshooting if it doesn’t work.

From a blog post called Kids Can’t Use Computers… And This Is Why It Should Worry You

‘So what do you teach?’ she asked as I worked on her presentation.
‘Computing’ I replied.
‘Oh… I guess these days you must find that the kids know more about computers than the teachers…’

[…]

Normally when someone spouts this rubbish I just nod and smile. This time I simply couldn’t let it pass. ‘Not really, most kids can’t use computers.’ (and neither can you – I didn’t add.)

She looked surprised by my rejection of what is generally considered a truism. After all, aren’t all teenagers digital natives? They have laptops and tablets and games consoles and smart phones, surely they must be the most technologically knowledgeable demographic on the planet. The bell went, and I really did have a lesson to teach, so I didn’t have time to explain to her my theories on why it is that kids can’t use computers. Maybe she’ll read my blog.

The truth is, kids can’t use general purpose computers, and neither can most of the adults I know. There’s a narrow range of individuals whom, at school, I consider technically savvy. These are roughly the thirty to fifty year-olds that have owned a computer for much of their adult lives. There are of course exceptions amongst the staff and students. There are always one or two kids in every cohort that have already picked up programming or web development or can strip a computer down to the bare bones, replace a motherboard, and reinstall an operating system. There are usually a couple of tech-savvy teachers outside the age range I’ve stated, often from the Maths and Science departments who are only ever defeated by their school laptops because they don’t have administrator privileges, but these individuals are rare.

Great great points here. I am 40 and can use computers because I grew up when PCs were first coming out. It required a lot of effort to upgrade them or maintain them. I remember putting in a new graphics card and trying to deconflict the IRQs (if you know what I mean then you probably know how to use computers).

(H/T Petervaldivia)

(H/T Petervaldivia)

If computers still needed that much effort to use, they would never have taken off like they did. Most people don’t care about the computer until it doesn’t work. Even then, they just want somebody else to fix it. I suppose Apple is partially to blame for this in that they tried to hide all the workings of a computer with their Macs and various iDevices. In fact one of Apple’s catch phrases was “It just works“. Overall though I think this is just the natural progression of technology. The easier you make a technology to use, the more people will be able to buy it. Economics drive simplicity.

So is this a problem? I am of two minds about this. First, I think learning about how a computer works is a useful skill to know and can spark thinking about other STEM related topics. On the other hand, a computer is just a tool, and the Internet is more of a utility now. We just expect it to work, and call somebody when it doesn’t.  This has happened many times in technology (the author gave an example of how people used to know a lot about cars but don’t now). Overall though, I am not too concerned about this. I would make sure kids have a good exposure to basic computer skills and if they want to learn more, they will. It’s not for everyone.

Anyway, it’s a great blog post.

Responses

  1. I wrote a post talking about his topic, too. It’s true, kids know much less about computers now. They know their favorite websites, but that’s about it. “Computer Literate Youth, Maybe Not So Much” http://wp.me/p1sXPw-R9

  2. Hi I’m not sure whether or not it’s me or maybe your internet site but it’s loading slowly
    for me personally, I had to spend just like a minute or two
    to successfully load although facebook works well .
    Nevertheless, I have to thank you for placing beautiful article.
    Most people who visited this page should have discovered
    this article honestly beneficial. I am hoping I’ll be able
    to find a lot more amazing content and I also should compliment your site simply by telling you
    have done good writing. After viewing the articles, I have book marked your site.

  3. Hello there Your entire website runs up incredibly slow if you ask me, I’m
    not sure who’s issue is that but wikipedia starts really quick.
    Well, Thank you for posting an extraordinarily lovely blog post.
    I think it has been incredibly beneficial to individual who actually visit here.

    I hope I’ll be able to find a lot more awesome things and
    I also should really flatter simply by telling you have carried
    out incredible job. To obtain more information from posts which you write-up, I’ve added the
    site.

  4. Hey there! Your webpage is running slow , the site went on sort of a minute
    or two to successfully reload, I personally do not know if it is just simply me or your website then again google loaded for me.
    Anyway, Thanks for posting an incredibly superb blog post.
    I assume it really has already been necessary
    to lots of individuals . I personally have to tell you that you have done
    excellent work with this and additionally wish to find
    much more amazing stuff from you. After looking at the article, I have bookmarked your web site.


Leave a Reply

Categories

