Posted by: crudbasher | April 16, 2012

Caine’s Arcade – Teachers Should Watch This Video

If you are a teacher this video will make your day.

Amazing.

I remember when I was a kid my parents got a new washing machine from Sears. It came in a large cardboard box. I have always been very interested in the space program so I of course took the box and made a replica of the Apollo Command Module. I drew out a very detailed control panel and everything. My brother and I flew to the moon! I’ll always remember that but I have no idea what I was learning in school that year.

In this video Caine is learning the following skills:

  1. Business
  2. Marketing
  3. Promotions
  4. Math
  5. Problem solving
  6. Persistence
  7. Creative thinking
  8. Finances
  9. Things you can do with tape and cardboard.

So the question you have to ask is how many of these skills will Caine learn in public school? Very few I bet. Even math will be learned in the abstract.

I will wager that making this arcade will have more of an impact on his life than the 12 years he spends in a public school. 

 


Leave a comment

Categories